Corpse pose (Savasana) and the fullness it holds

4-15-10  In Savasana, I thought of dead people. The way their faces are relaxed & at rest. The form of the mouth as breath no longer moves through. And I laughed. The thought of death…being so beautiful. And I cried (somewhat common when practicing this pose). The celebration of life being so joyful.

This writing came out of me 7 months after the death of my father and 1 day after being at my first yoga training. Yet the experience is always with me. Finding my way through life experiences, aware of, yet not clinging to…

This pose is often found at the ending of a yoga class. However, it is also the pose that begins and ends each day. We lie down to rest. We wake up from rest. And yet resting is either so difficult for some to accept or so scary for some to think about that we hardly revel in the juiciness resting provides.

I was wondering what the heck to write about this week. So I step upon my mat, do a little physical work, and it comes to me while resting. As I re-read the above journal entry and experienced a nasty head cold that forced me to rest, the life experience presented itself the perfect blog topic.

The past year and a half continues to astonish me. The leaping, risking, communicating, gut-fine tuning, AND resting to name a few…the on-going gifts that are paving this journey for now. As a yoga teacher, I choose to end each class guiding others through a resting period. Presenting the opportunity to pay attention to what is arising (INSIGHT) and then letting go of attachment to arising thoughts, feelings, etc. (SURRENDER). AHA! So that the experience is always with us, try paying more attention to what is arising and then let that shit go! Sound difficult? Commit to trying it out. See what happens. Let me know by leaving a comment for this blog.

many versions of Savasana, yet the basics are:

  • lie in a neutral position, preferably back flat against floor, mat or carpet and legs extended long. IF BACK INJURY OR PAIN, bend knees and feet flat on floor, hip-distance apart or support the knees with a bolster, or stacked pillows/blankets.
  • working to dissipate the sense organs by softening the roof of the mouth, letting go of tension in jaw, relaxing eyebrows & skin of forehead, letting the eyes sink back to the back of the head
  • maintain neutral breathing
  • rest for at least 5 minutes
  • to come out of pose: with an exhale, gently roll onto either side, take a couple breaths, with another exhale, press hands into the floor and lift torso as the head gently follows
Leave a Reply

