Movin’ Mondays playlist

I love creating playlists, making CD’s (yeah that’s right…I’m a little stuck in the stone ages of CD world), and sharing music. Growing up, I enjoyed counting the counts in ballet class and when my mom would clean house while jamming out. All though I grew up with 2 homes, mom’s and dad’s, both parents played parts in music creating enjoyment within my soul. About 3 years before my dad died, he created a “Chronicles” tribute to honor his favs and share the role that music played throughout his life. He composed a mixed cd that included a list of the title and artist of each song, along with why he chose that song. One example is of a Van Morrison song. He shared that when he and a few college buddies were driving across country they could not get enough of this song. Played it over and over…how I would play any Van Morrison song…and maybe someday my son. See how art of many forms captures a time for one and can be picked up at later time by another? MAGICAL. Now I get to make music concoctions for dance & yoga classes. Once in a while someone will comment how much they enjoyed the music and ask for the name of an artist or song. I think, “Ah, this is what music is all about.” One of these days, I will learn how to put samples of the songs in the blog. For now, this is what we got…

Yesterday I jammed out to the following during my Movin’ Monday. (see previous blog for more info https://awholesomeapproach.wordpress.com/2012/12/14/physical-activity-weak-link). This playlist had me movin’ and groovin’ until the sweat came pourin’! Started off somewhat calm. As my pulse sped up, so did the beat! I only do 30 mins at a time because that is all my schedule allows. Feel free to add more songs to make longer. Enjoy!

“A New Life” by Jim James

“Don’t Carry it All” by The Decemberists

“Got to Give It Up Pt.1” by Marvin Gaye

“Fancy” by Drake, T.I, & Swizz Beatz

“Can’t Hold Us (feat. Ray Dalton)” by Macklemore & Ryan Lewis

“Make the Money” by Macklemore

“Viva la Vida” by Coldplay for cool down

Cheers to moving, grooving, and sharing!

Leave a Reply

